I Was Swallowed By A Hippo

Castle life, Aga strife, slummy mummy, average wife

I Heart Scotland

on November 28, 2013

With less than 640 hours to go, my Christmas preparations are gathering momentum. As well as some tinsel and a couple of woolly snowflakes, I now own enough baco foil to wrap the castle in, Christo-style. I must remember to acutally order the fuckingturkey though. I fear it may get forgotten about amidst the excitement of DIY decorations and crocheted gifts and it would be monumentally tragic if we were forced to split cousin Janey’s vegetarian haggis 13 ways.

20131128-111433.jpg

Stitching and bitching

I decided to take another wee trip ‘up the road’ at the weekend under the guise of doing some Christmas shopping somewhere other than the evil blue, red and white supermarket*. My real motive however, was to spend as little time with the children as possible and wallow in the lake of ME for a bit whilst my parents and sister rushed around after the wee terrorists, exhausting themselves trying to meet petty need after petty need. It was bliss.

I even managed a Girls Night In with two of my oldest and bestest pals. It was WILD. Over half a bottle of prosecco, I attempted to teach them how to crochet a stylish winter headband. I’m sure they won’t mind being described as beginners but by the time my parents came crashing in, drunk, at midnight, they had both cracked it and were well on the way to a finished item. I was so proud. In my review of 2013, that night comes top of my list of nights in or out. I haven’t laughed so much in ages but it really made me miss the girls when I got home. Luckily they’ve both been harassing me on Skype and Facebook for emergency crochet advice so I don’t feel so far away.

Back at the castle, winter is settling in nicely and is rewarding us with spectacular colours and views and crisp, sunny days. Even the mundane school run is a joy as I try to concentrate on the road whilst soaking in the astounding scenery. I am feeling very much in love with Scotland at the moment and VERY protective of my amazing country. My heart has always said ‘no’ to independence, but as the campaign gathers momentum, I find myself drawn to points from both sides. I am only beginning to realise the vastness of this decision and it terrifies me just a little bit but I am determined to arm myself with as much information as possible and remove my ‘politics filter’ that I usually apply to printed and digital media. I have even downloaded the referendum white paper on my kindle which I will peruse shortly. Just as soon as I finish Bridget Jones’ Diary. One must prioritise.

*because the evil green and orange supermarkets are so much better. :-/

One response to “I Heart Scotland

  1. Lynda G says:

    Yippee at last a mention 🙂 about to start my 4th headband so maybe the beginner bit needs updated!

Leave a Reply

